The Northern Front

The Northern front was situated north and north-west of Copenhagen. It stretched from the Utterslev Moor west of the city and up north to the strait of the Öresund.
It was a line of six forts with seven batteries in the rear.

Triangular fort

Most of the forts were triangular. At trangular shape was easier to defend from the caponiere in the moat. Only the Garderhöj Fort was square-shaped.

The basic difference of the southern and northern front was the fact, that the southern part  was a continuous line, and the northern part were a number of forts supported by some batteries.

The forts were covered by the batteries behind the forts. These batteries also were supposed to cover the rear of the forts.

The difference between af fort and a battery is, that at a fort can shoot 360 degrees around it, while a battery can shoot in only one main derection.

The forts at the Northern front.

The Gladsaxe Fort
The Lyngby Fort
The Garderhöj Fort
The Fortun Fort
The Bagsværd Fort
The Taarbäk Fort

The Batteries

The Tinghoej Battery
The Buddinge Battery
The Vangede Battery
The Gentofte Battery
The Bernstorff Battery
The Ordrup Krat Battery
The Christiansholm Battery  (Actually more like a fort)

The attacking enemy was led towards the fort line by major floodings. These floodings was covered from some of the batteries and the four infantry strongholds:

The strongholds:

The Dyrehave stronghold
The Baunehoej stronghold
The Hovmark stronghold
The Vintappergaard stronghold